The following is a complete list of works as contained in Trinity College Dublin Manuscripts and Research Library.

The Library are in the process of digitising selected works by Ina Boyle. See

Scores and performance materials for a selection of works may be ordered direct from the Contemporary Music Centre. See for further details.

*Digitized scores /parts available to view from

Works with Orchestra

*1913 Elegie for violoncello and orchestra: vc-solo/2222/2100/timp/str.
Awarded first prize for composition at Sligo Feis Ceoil. Currently being typeset and edited by Emma O'Keeffe (MPhil, DIT). More

*1914 ‘Ireland’ (Walt Whitman): Bar-solo/satb/2222/4130/timp/str.

*1916 ‘Soldiers at Peace’ (Herbert Asquith): satb/2222/4230/timp/hp/str.
Pub. Novello & Co.Ltd.1917 Dedication: ‘To My Mother’     
Carnegie United Kingdom Trust competition: Commended

*1917-1918 ‘Battle Hymn of the Republic’ (Julia Ward Howe): S-solo/satb/2222/4230/ timp/hp/str,

*1919 ‘Lo, in This Day We Keep Our Yesterdays’ (Francis Thompson): Bar- solo 2222/ 4230/timp/str              

*1918-19 A Sea Poem Theme, 6 variations and Finale for orchestra: 3322/4231/perc/hp/str.
Carnegie United Kingdom Trust competition: The judges sent Ina Boyle a note hoping that she would not be discouraged but would let them see more of her work.

*1919 The Magic Harp Rhapsody for orchestra: 3332/4231/timp/hp/str Pub. Stainer & Bell 1921 [14 mins.]
Carnegie United Kingdom Trust: In 1920 the work was selected for publication in the Carnegie Collection of British Music. She was the only female composer represented in the collection.
RCM Patron’s Fund: Accepted for performance

1921 Colin Clout Pastoral for orchestra: 2332/4030/timp/hp/str             
RCM Patron’s Fund: Accepted for performance

*1924-25 Glencree Symphony No. 1 for orchestra, 1st movt. added 1927, rev.1928, 1937: 2332/4231/timp/hp/str   [35 mins.]    (Typesetting by Sarah M. Burn in progress with funding from the Ambache Charitable Trust)    
RCM Patron’s Fund: 2 movements accepted

1925-26 ‘Hymne of Heavenly Love’ (Edmund Spenser): S-solo/ssatb/2322/4230/ 4230/timp/ hp/str                

1927 Psalm for violoncello and orchestra, rev. 1928: 2322/4230/timp/hp/str. Currently being typeset and edited by Emma O'Keeffe (MPhil, DIT).                                             

*1929-30 The Dream of the Rood Symphony no. 2 for orchestra: 2332/4331/perc/hp/str                            

1930-31 Virgilian Suite Ballet Suite for orchestra: 2211/2000/perc/hp/str

1932 ‘Peace Peace He is Not Dead’ (Shelley) Elegy for chorus and orchestra: satb/2222/ 4030/timp/str              

*1932-33 Concerto for violin and orchestra, rev.1935: 2222/2130/timp/str. Typeset score and parts by Sarah M. Burn available to order/hire from CMC.                                                        

*1933-34 Overture for orchestra: 2222/4231/perc/hp/str   [10 mins.]      

1935-36 The Dance of Death Masque or Ballet: 2222/4231/ perc/str     

1938-39 The Vision of Er: SSA solo/2222/4231/perc/str                                  

1941 Hellas (tr. J.W.Mackail): S-solo/satb/2222/4331/perc/hp/str            

*1942 Wild Geese Sketch for small orchestra: 2222/2000/timp/hp/str [5 mins.]                                                

1942 Urania (Ruth Pitter) Mez-solo/str                                      

1945 The Prophet (Pushkin tr. Maurice Baring): B-solo/2222/4230/perc/str  [10 mins.]                                    

*1946-52 From the Darkness (Edith Sitwell) Symphony for contralto and orchestra: C-solo/2222/4230/timp/hp/str                                    

*1953 ‘No Coward Soul is Mine’ (Emily Bronte): C-solo/str