This is the official web site for Irish composer Ina Boyle. The site serves as a key information source about her music and will features updates on performances of her work, as well as other news about her.

The site is maintained by Emma O'Keeffe (Musicologist) on behalf of a Development Committee chaired by Katie Rowan, a relative of the Boyle family.

The Ina Boyle Development Committee includes the following representative people drawn from the Irish classical music sector: 

  • Dr Ita Beausang (musicologist)

  • David Byers (composer and musicologist)

  • Ian Fox (writer and music critic)

  • Nicola LeFanu (composer)

  • Ronald Corp (Composer & Conductor)

  • Dr Kerry Houston (DIT Conservatory of Music)

  • Jonathan Grimes (Contemporary Music Centre)

  • Kenneth Baird (Director of the European Opera Centre in Liverpool)

  • Emma O'Keeffe (PhD, DIT Conservatory of Music)

The Development Committee is also grateful for the support of the late Canon Bob Reed, Precentor of St Patricks, and for the invaluable advice and guidance of Roy Stanley, Trinity College Dublin.

We're delighted that thanks to the support of the Boyle family, a number of her unpublished works will be available to order from the CMC. To view a list of works and see which ones are available in typeset format, please see the compositions section of this site.

For any enquiries about Ina Boyle's music, please visit the contact section of this web site.




DR. ITA BEAUSANG is Emeritus lecturer in musicology at DIT (Dublin Institute of Technology) Conservatory of Music and Drama, and research fellow of the Research Foundation of Music in Ireland.  Has been active in research in the areas of music education, piano pedagogy, music therapy and music criticism. Was research assistant to Professor Aloys Fleischmann for his contribution in A New History of Ireland Vol. 6 (OUP, 1996). Honorary life member of the Society of Musicology in Ireland. Advisory editor for The Encyclopaedia of Music in Ireland.(UCD Press, 2013)  Has researched the life and music of Ina Boyle since 2006.

DR. KERRY HOUSTON is President of the Society for Musicology in Ireland, and a member of the editorial board of the Encyclopedia of Music in Ireland.  He is a founder member of the Irish working group of Research Foundation for Music in Ireland of which he is Chair and a committee member of the Irish Society of Archives.  He is Head of Department Studies at DIT (Dublin Institute of Technology) Conservatory of Music and Drama, and Director of Music Trinity College Chapel, Dublin.  

NICOLA LE FANU is a well known composer whose works have been widely played, broadcast and recorded. Commission include BBC, festivals in UK and internationally. She is active as a teacher, composer and director,  Emeritus Professor of Music York University(UK)  1994 -2008, and Director of Irish Composition Summer School.   Recent premieres included ‘Tokaido Road - a journey after Hiroshige’(music theatre) and ‘Threnody’ for orchestra.  She isdaughter of composer Elizabeth Maconchy, long term friend of Ina Boyle. 

IAN FOX is a distinguished writer, music critic and broadcaster.  Wrote his first criticism for the Irish Times in 1969 and has been music critic of Sunday Tribune since 1988 .  He is Irish correspondent for Opera (London) and Opera Canada and is a member of the Critics Circle London.  He founded and edited the first Irish classical music magazine ‘Counterpoint ‘, in 1969.   He is a Governor of the Royal Irish Academy of Music , and a Council member of Wexford Opera.

DAVID BYERS is a distinguished composer, writer, musicologist and broadcaster, former BBC producer for Music and Arts, and former Chief Executive, Ulster Orchestra.  Has served on many committees and boards: Arts Council Northern Ireland, the Irish Arts Council, Opera Northern Ireland, Ulster Orchestra Society, Irish Baroque Orchestra, Wexford Festival Opera, Royal Irish Academy of Music and National Concert Hall (Dublin).  He has edited and typeset Ina Boyle’s String Quartet and ‘Still Falls the Rain’ for contralto and string quartet.

KENNETH BAIRD is the European Opera Centre's founding chief executive. He was previously the senior executive of the Aldeburgh Foundation - responsible for the Aldeburgh Festival, the programme at Snape Maltings Concert Hall and the Britten-Pears School for Advanced Musical Studies; and subsequently Music Director of the Arts Council of Great Britain. He sits on a number of arts boards including Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

RONALD CORP composer and conductor Ronald Corp is the founder and Artistic Director of the New London Orchestra and the New London Children’s Choir and also Musical Director of the London Chorus and the Highgate Choral Society. With the New London Orchestra he has recorded a number of award winning CDs for Hyperion. He has written an extensive body of works including the cantatas And all the trumpets sounded, Laudamus, Mary's Song, Adonai Echad, A New Song and The Hound of Heaven as well as works for unaccompanied choir (Dhammapada, Things I didn't say).  His instrumental compositions include a symphony, concertos for piano and for cello, three string quartets (number one titled 'The Bustard') and a clarinet quintet ('Crawhall'). His work for children's voices include the opera The Ice Mountain. He has written over one hundred songs and recent cycles include Songs of the Elder Sisters, Fields of the fallen, Dawn on the Somme and Letters from Lony. Many of his works are recorded on CD. His experience and expertise in choral directing are crystallised in the textbook, The Choral Singer's Companion.  Ronald Corp was awarded an OBE in the New Year Honours List 2012.

KATIE ROWAN (Chair) is a relative of the Boyle family. Originally studied singing with Elizabeth Downey in Waterford.  In a career of thirty years in the charitable sector, including developing music and art opportunities for people with special needs.  Project partners included, Institute of Education London University, Royal College of Art, City Literary Institute (London), Royal Academy, and BBC (Songs of Praise).  On retirement she has taken an active part in supporting young musicians and composers through organisations such Help Musicians UK and Irish Heritage, of which she is Joint Artistic Director.  She is a research associate of the Research Foundation of Music In Ireland. 

EMMA O’KEEFFE is a final year PhD researcher at DIT’s Conservatory of Music and Drama. Her thesis, ‘No Coward Soul is Mine’: A Critical Edition of Select Works by Ina Boyle (1889 – 1967), examines five of Ina Boyle’s works written between 1913 and 1958. To date, Emma’s critical editions have resulted in a number of performances and recordings of Boyle’s music including contributions to the albums Cello Abbey (2016) and Ina Boyle (2018), the first CD dedicated entirely to the composer’s orchestral works.